Sign In Forgot Password

Class Times and Tuition

 

Pre-K/K (9-11 am) - $293

1st – 2nd Grades (9-11 am) - $586

3rd – 7th Grades (9-12 pm) - $796*

Pre-Confirmation (8th & 9th Grade) and Confirmation (10th Grade) (11-1 pm) - $586

* Note: B'nai Mitzvah fees are separate from Religious School fees.  Please consult the B'nai Mitzvah Handbook for more information.


Religious School Dates and Activities

Parents, please stay tuned to your email for more information and details on our upcoming Religious School events and activities, such as a 4th and 5th grade family program, field trips, youth events, and more!

 

Date Event
Sunday, August 26 First Day of Religious School
  ISJL Fellow Visit
  Parent Orientation
  All classes dismiss at 11am for Picnic at Claude Moore Park.
  Chaverim-Chai does not meet for Religious School due to 11am dismissal
  12:30 - 2pm: Teachers Meeting either at Claude Moore Park or BCRC
Sunday, September 2 No School for Labor Day
Sunday, September 9 No School for Erev Rosh Hashana
Sunday, September 16 Religious School
  First full day of Religious School
  First day of Chaverim-Chai
Sunday, September 23 Religious School
  Art led by Anna Hild to make Sukkah decorations
Sunday, September 30 Religious School
  Consecration/Simcat Torah 10-11am
  6th graders will receive their prayer books
  New students receive mini-Torahs and Consecration certificates.
  Also, Sukkah visits, schedule TBA
Sunday, October 7 No Religious School for Columbus Day
Sunday , October 15 Religious School
  9am - 10am 7th grade class service rehearsal
  Music break out sessions, schedule TBD
  10am - Fire Drill
Friday, October 19 7th Grade Glass Service
Sunday, October 21 Religious School
Sunday, October 28 Religious School
Sunday, November 4 No Religious School for LCPS Holiday
Sunday, November 11 Religious School
  Confirmation Class Field Trip to Ropes Course at Camp Shoresh, details TBD
Sunday, November 18 Religious School
  Music break out sessions, schedule TBD
Sunday, November 25 No School for Thanksgiving weekend
Sunday , December 2 Religious School
  2nd and 3rd Grade Family Program, time TBD
Sunday, December 9 Religious School
  Grades Pre-K - 2nd dismiss at 11am to go to Chanukah Party
  Grades 3rd - 7th dismiss at 11:30am to go to Chanukah Party
  no Chaverim-Chai class that day, but Madrichim will be asked to help with Chanukah Party
December 14-16 ISJL Fellow Visit
Sunday, December 16 Religious School
  B'nai Mitzvah Workshop I, time TBD
Sunday, December 23 No School for Winter Break
Sunday, December 30 No School for Winter Break
Sunday, January 6 Religious School
  6th grade class service rehearsal
Friday, Janaury 11 6th Grade Class Service
Sunday, Janaary 13 Religious School
  1st grade class service rehearsal
  Music break out sessions, schedule TBD
  Grace to Go for Confirmation Class Field Trip
Friday, Janaury 18 Tu B'Shevat Shabbat led by 1st grade, Pre-K and K invited
Sunday, January 20 No Religious School for MLK Weekend
Sunday, Janaury 27 Religious School
Sunday, Febraury 3 Religious School
  Hebrew Games Day
Sunday, February 10 Religious School
  5th grade class service rehearsal
Friday, February 15 5th Grade Class Service
Sunday , February 17 No Religious School for President's Day
Sunday, February 24 Religious School
  Music break out sessions, schedule TBD
  B'nai Mitzvah Workshop II, time TBD
Sunday, March 3 Religious School
March 8-10 ISJL Fellow Visit
Sunday, March 10 Religious School
  4th class service rehearsal
  Music break out sessions, schedule TBD
Friday, March 15 4th Grade Class Service
Sunday, March 17 Religious School
  Purim Art led by Anna Hild
Sunday, March 24 Religious School
  Purim Carnival
  Mitzvah Day
Sunday, March 31 No Religious School for LCPS Holiday
Sunday, April 7 Religious School
  Chocolate Seder
Sunday, April 14 No Religious School for Spring Break
Sunday, April 21 No Religious School for Spring Break
Sunday, April 28 Religious School
  B'nai Mitzvah Workshop III
Sunday, May 5 Religious School
  3rd grade rehearsal for class service
  Music break out sessions, schedule TBD
Friday, May 10 3rd Grade Class Service
Sunday, May 12 No Religious School for Mother's Day
Sunday, May 19 Religious School
  2nd grade rehearsal for class service
Friday, May 24 Tot Shabbat led by the 2nd Grade
Saturday, May 25 - Monday, May 27 Confirmation Class Trip to NYC
Sunday, May 26 No Religious School for Memorial Day Weekend
Sunday, June 2 Last day of Religious School
  9:00 - 10:30am - Religious School meets
  10:30am - end - Teacher Appreciation Brunch, Awards at 11am, parents must accompany students
 

Class Service Schedule

Each of our grades is given the opportunity once per year to lead a Shabbat service.  This may include leading the congregation in song and/or reading certain prayers.  The class often will organize a special Oneg Shabbat or dinner for the families of the students.  

Rehearsals for the service typically are held the Sunday before the service during Religious School, and also during the hour before the service starts - please check with Rabbi Amy Sapowith for your grade's rehearsal schedule.

Class Service Schedule - 2018/19

Date

Grade/Event

October 19

7th Grade 

January 11

6th Grade

January 18
(Tu B'Shevat Shabbat)

1st Grade (with Kindergarten and Pre-K invited but not leading the service) 

February 15

5th Grade

March 15

4th Grade

May 10
(Yom Ha'atzmaut Shabbat)

3rd Grade

May 24

2nd Grade

 

Sun, December 9 2018 1 Tevet 5779